Winter Rescue

A bit off topic this week while I finalise my lesson plans and recipes for my YOUR BEST YOU workshop I am holding in the October school holidays and also for my TRAVELLING CIRCUS project, where lots of exciting things will happen in my little vintage caravan.

I thought you might be interested in a little Winter skin revival!!

minnie-mouse-make-up-cartoon-wallpaper-wallpaper-1294842354

I have been using my own concoctions as well as other well known Perth natural brands – Marina’s Ambrosia, for a few years now.  I know her personally and she puts all of her love into each batch she creates for you – Freshly prepared!! I am addicted to the colours in her makeup range AND she has just released a natural mascara!! Natural, done for you if you are not into “mixing in the kitchen” yourself.  My skin LOVES the pureness of the natural ingredients.

marinas ambrosia

I would love nothing more than mixing up concoctions while in the bath as a young child, and it hasn’t changed much (I just do it in the kitchen now instead) and I love to teach others how to look after their skin (it comes with the Beauty Therapy trade, I think), I am not interested in selling my concoctions (I leave that to my expert friend Marina) so what better thing to do than mix that all together and teach people to cook up their OWN skin care??

I find recipes online and tweak them to my own liking or just experiment.  It makes me feel like an important chemist or scientist!!

This weeks recipe is for a Facial Serum, packed full of essential oils to penetrate your skin for deep nourishing.

Obsessive create skin revivalobsessive create skin revival

I chose one for MATURE skin (because, I now have mature skin and we could all do with a bit of prevention)

Homemade Anti-Aging Facial Serum For Mature Skin

1tsp Apricot Kernel oil

1/2tsp rose hip seed oil

10 Carrot Oil

8 drops Frankincense Essential oil

8 drops Rose Essential oil

4 drops Neroli Essential oil

These serums a so simple to make

You will need a small dark coloured, glass bottle to store you finished product (essential oils are delicate)

Start by pouring your carrier oils into you bottle (you may need a small funnel), the carrier oils in this recipe are –

Apricot oil – Deeply Moisturising, nourishing and lubricating, easily absorbed into the skin.

Rosehip oil – rich in a range of antioxidants, including beta-carotene and lycopene, which help to protect and repair skin from premature ageing caused by modern living.

Then drop your essential oils in, drop by drop.

Carrot oil – fights any skin problems such as psoriasis, eczema and weeping sores. The formative action on the epidermal cells helps to keep wrinkles at bay and is also helpful when fighting liver spots (age spots).

Frankincese oil – tones and lifts skin, heals and protects skin , fades and heals scars, promotes regeneration of healthy cells and keeps existing cells and tissues health.

Rose oil – Hydrating, healing and soothing, great for mature skin

Neroli oil – great for dry skin with broken capillaries, as it has been known to reduce redness and skin irritation.

(do take care whilst using essential oils, they not only have an effect on your skin but also has benefits to your health and wellbeing/emotions, some esential oils should not be used if you have certain ailments and also whilst pregnant.  The Carrot oil should not be used whilst pregnant in this recipe [to be sure, you should not use any essential oils whilst pregnant])

Give it a good mix and you are done!!

Easy Peasy, and your skin will LOVE you, so nourishing.

A serum goes on after you have cleansed and toned and before your moisturiser.  Use sparingly (it should absorb into your skin quite a bit, but don’t use too much)

If you are worried about, or not used to having oil on you skin, use only at night as a night treatment.

You can buy these oils online, my favourite places are New Directions and N Essentials, or you may be able to find a good health food shop, near you, that stocks essential oils.

NOW, if you decide to try this serum, I would LOVE to hear about it!!

Have fun

Love Kirsty xxx

8 thoughts on “Winter Rescue

  1. Mystery Case

    I’m finding it hard to believe you have mature skin! I might need to case that natural mascara. I have real issues with most mascaras, where my eyes constantly water when wearing them.

    Reply
    1. obsessivecreativedesign Post author

      I have tried a natural one she had, it was great, but now she is making it herself!! I have tried making mascara before when I was making mineral makeup and never found a concoction I liked

      Reply
  2. Lisa Rabson

    I had no idea about carrot oil!! I’m definitely going to try that when my hands have a breakout of dermatitis. I like the sound of this face serum, gonna have to give this a go too. Thanks Kirsty 🙂

    Reply
  3. boobinabox

    Oh thanks for sharing this, my skin is shocking at the moment – post menopause meets freezing winter does not make for a happy dermis! I am definitely going to give this a crack.

    Reply
  4. Marina Herlihy

    Love love love your blog!!!! You have an amazing way with words! By the way I love you recipe!!!!! This weather is shocking for everyone’s skin….. Even dry eyes feel drier!! By the way…… Surely you can’t classify your self as having mature skin!!!!! Arghhhhh
    Xx

    Reply
    1. obsessivecreativedesign Post author

      oh thanks Marina!! and as for the mature skin thing LOL, my skin has always been dry, so needs more protection. I just class myself as mature because I am over 30, that in no way makes me feel old, of course, I just know my skin needs a little more at this age…..it doesn’t bounce back quite as good hahaha
      Actually, the kids were learning about elasticity of the skin at school and did the pinch test on my hand…..I can tell yu, it DID NOT bounce back as it did the last time I did that test (boo hoo) hahahaha

      Reply

Leave a Reply

